7.7.2014 0 Comments

CTO of the Year Europe award launched – who is the most innovative technology leader in Europe?

CTO Europe logo.jpg The open call for nominations for Europe's most prominent technology leader was launched on Wednesday in Copenhagen by Spinverse and EIRMA, the European Industrial Research Management Association. The Award will be given to the most inspiring, innovative and foresighted technology leader in Europe; awarded in October in the Netherlands.

The CTO of the Year 2014 award was launched today by Mr. Michel Judkiewicz, Secretary General of EIRMA, and Mr. Pekka Koponen, CEO of Spinverse Ltd, at EIRMA's annual conference in Copenhagen. "The CTO of the Year award promotes the importance of technology and innovations for Europe's future", tells Koponen. "There are awards for almost all the CXOs - however, no one was awarding CTOs, who have a crucial role in European technology-based growth and should be recognised for their achievements", Judkiewicz continues. The concept is welcomed not only by European industry but also by the European Commission.

The winner will be selected by the high level jury, chaired by Yrjö Neuvo, former CTO of Nokia. He explains that "the CTO of the Year Award was launched to find a person who is both an inspiring leader and a competent technology developer. The winners will be awarded in two categories in order to highlight that both SMEs and large corporations are needed to support technology-based growth in Europe."

The other jury members are Prof. Flemming Besenbacher, Chairman of Carlsberg Breweries, Dr. Leopold Demiddeleer, Founder & Administrator of TechBridgeOne S.P.R.L. and Former New Business Development Director of SOLVAY S.A., Mrs. Carla Hilhorst, Vice President R&D Foods Europe and ad interim VP R&D for Nutrition of Unilever, Dr.-Ing. Carlos J. Härtel, EIRMA President and Managing Director GE Global Research Europe and Prof. Dame Julia King, Vice-Chancellor and Professor of Materials Engineering in Aston University and Former Director of Engineering, Marine Business, Rolls-Royce plc. Mr. Pekka Koponen, the Spinverse CEO, acts as a secretary of the jury.

"Most importantly, this award was launched to create more awareness and respect for this highly important role in companies and in society", highlights Hilhorst. "We look forward to broad participation and believe that this contest will play a role in strengthening cross-sectorial learning and cooperation across European industries", continues Prof. Neuvo.

The call for nominations is open online until August 24th at

Mohlo by Vás zaujímať

Tlačové správy

ČR: Alcatel LINK ZONE - LTE (4G) Wifi router do vrecka

26.10.2016 11:30

Firma TCL Communication uvedla na český a slovenský trh LTE (4G) Wi-Fi router Alcatel LINK ZONE. Novinka poslouží jako mobilní přístupový bod k internetu pro až 15 různých zařízení s WiFi připojením. ...

Tlačové správy

Čína chce investovať na Slovensku – privítali by u nás logistické centrum

26.10.2016 11:10

Podpredseda vlády pre investície a informatizáciu Peter Pellegrini dnes rokoval s delegáciou Medzinárodnej obchodnej komory Hodvábnej cesty (SRCIC – Silk Road Chamber of International Commerce, Hong K ...

Tlačové správy

ČR: Herný headset Cooler Master MasterPulse Pro s RGB, Bass FX a 7.1 kanálovým zvukom

26.10.2016 11:00

Společnost Cooler Master, lídr v oblasti designu a výroby počítačových komponent a periferií, uvádí na trh herní sluchátka MasterPulse Pro. Vylepšená verze předchozích MasterPulse Over-ear nabízí naví ...

Žiadne komentáre


ITAPA 2016 Jesen

Najnovšie videá